Through its members and collaborators, EMBL Australia is building the EMBL Australia Partner Laboratory that will consist of up to 20 research groups, giving their host institutions access to EMBL’s scientific excellence and governance. 

Victorian node 

The Victorian node at Monash University currently hosts four research groups within the Faculty of Biomedical and Psychological Sciences: 

  • Dr Edwina McGlinn and her team are working to understand the genes controlling formation of the skeleton and neural circuits. 
  • Dr Chen Davidovich is studying key proteins involved in the maintenance of stem cell fate, and which play an important role in multiple cancers. 
  • A/Professor Max Cryle is using a combination of techniques to understand and harness the major protein machines that catalyse the production of some of the most important antibiotics in clinical use. 
  • Dr Mikaël Martino focusses on the immune regulations of stem cells and regeneration, seeking to design regenerative medicine strategies integrating a control of the immune system. 

South Australian node 

The South Australian node of EMBL Australia at the South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute (SAHMRI) hosts three groups supported by the University of Adelaide, University of South Australia and Flinders University. 

  • Dr David Lynn has joined the SAHMRI Infection and Immunity theme where he is investigating the regulation of the innate immune system from a genome- wide or systems level perspective. 
  • Dr Ville-Petteri Mäkinen has joined the Heart Health research theme at SAHMRI where he is using big data to better understand pathologic phenomena at the intersection of ageing, obesity, diabetes and cardiovascular disease. 
  • Dr Pirjo Apaja and her team focus on organelle biology and disease, investigating mechanisms in autophagy and endo-lysosome network tra cking and their contribution to disease conditions such as neurological disorders and cancer. 

New South Wales node 

The New South Wales Node of EMBL Australia comprises

  • Dr Marcus Heisler who is currently based at EMBL in Heidelberg heads one research group at the University of Sydney Unit. He is looking at a fundamental question in plant developmental biology: how specialised tissues and organs become di erentiated from embryonic cells and arranged into the stems, leaves and other structures as plants grow.
  • A research group led Dr Yann Gambin is based at the University of New South Wales Unit, within the Centre in Single Molecule Science. He combines single molecule detection and micro fluidics to develop a microscopy based pipeline to readily study protein-protein interactions at high resolution. 
  • A research group led Dr Maté Biro also at the UNSW Unit within the Centre in Single Molecule Science. He studies actomyosin mechanisms during cytotoxic T cell action and the elucidation of biomechanical cell-cell interaction between T and target cancer. 
Back to Resources & Facilities