Members of the EMBL Australia Council


Professor Brandon Wainwright

Brandon Wainwright is a Professor of Molecular Genetics and Director of the Institute for Molecular Bioscience (IMB) at The University of Queensland. His research interest is developing new therapeutic approaches for paediatric brain tumours and his group was the first to identify a causative gene for any brain tumour. Prof Wainwright has been a member of the EMBL Australia Council since its inception and was elected Chairperson in December 2015.



Ms plamena markova-anderson

Plamena Markova-Anderson is the Head of Government and EU Relations at EMBL. She has a background in international relations and public international law, and has more than 10 years of experience in the NGO, IGO and public relations sectors. In her position at EMBL, she is responsible for relations with member states and oversees a large network of strategic partnerships.


Universities Australia

Professor John Carroll

Prof John Carroll obtained his PhD from the University of Adelaide before moving to the MRC Experimental Embryology Unit in London. He joined University College London (UCL) in 1996 and became Director of the UCL Division of Biosciences in 2007. Since moving to Monash in 2012, Prof Carroll has led the formation of the Monash Biomedicine Discovery Institute. His research focusses on understanding the mechanisms of oocyte development, maturation and fertilisation in mammals. His laboratory is known or using live cell imagery to address questions that improve understanding of oocyte polarity, the control of meiosis and the fidelity of chromosome segregation in the oocyte and early embryo. His research has been funded by long-term MRC Programme Grants and the ARC, and the results published in leading journals, including Nature Cell Biology, Science, Developmental Cell, Development and Journal of Cell Biology.


Professor Sarah Russell
Sarah Russell

Professor Sarah Russell has a background in immune cell signalling, particularly T-cell development and fate determination. Her research interest is in the control of cell fate determination and leukemogenesis by polarity, asymmetric cell division and the tumour suppressor proteins of the Scribble family. She has expertise in microscopy and image analysis, particularly time-lapse microscopy, quantitative image analysis and super-resolution microscopy.


Association of Australian Medical Research Institutes

Professor Andrew Sinclair

Professor Andrew Sinclair is Deputy Director of the Murdoch Children’s Research Institute and a Professor in the Department of Paediatrics at The University of Melbourne. Nationally, Professor Sinclair co-leads the Australian Genomic Health Alliance, a network of over 40 organisations that aims to integrate genomics into the Australian health care system, and is in the Executive Management group of Melbourne Genomics. He leads an NHMRC research program (2004-2019) focusing on disorders of sex development (DSD); genomics and diagnosis to inform clinical care. His contributions have been fundamental to the advancement of the field, including significant gene discovery and development of an accurate, rapid diagnostic assay that has improved outcomes for patients with DSD.


Professor Frank Gannon

Professor Frank Gannon is the Director and CEO of QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute. He joined QIMR Berghofer in January 2011, having been Director General and board member of Science Foundation Ireland (SFI) since 2007. He obtained his PhD from the University of Leicester, England in 1973 and worked subsequently in the USA, France, Ireland and Germany, where he was Executive Director of the European Molecular Biology Organisation (EMBO) and Senior Scientist at EMBL from 1994-2007. His major research interest is the regulation of gene expression by the oestrogen receptor, which plays a major role in breast and endometrial cancer.



Dr David Hansen

Dr David Hansen is CEO of the Australian e-Health Research Centre, CSIRO's Digital Health Research Program and a joint venture between the CSIRO and Queensland Health. Dr Hansen leads a research program of over 80 scientists and engineers developing technologies for improving our health care system across health informatics, biomedical informatics and health services research. He worked at the European Bioinformatics Institute in 1998, before leaving to join LION Bioscience with the SRS technology team.


Bioplatforms Australia

mr Andrew Gilbert

Andrew is the General Manager of Bioplatforms Australia, overseer of a $150 million Commonwealth Government research infrastructure investment in the discovery sciences of genomics, proteomics and metabolomics. In addition to managing the national infrastructure network (which supports 4500 users per annum across the spectrum of pure research to commercial production), Bioplatforms Australia has catalysed the formation of a series of strategic national scientific collaborations – in the broad themes of wheat productivity and quality, Great Barrier Reef genomic surveying, wine characterisation and development, native fauna sequencing and melanoma biology. Prior to his current endeavours, Andrew was the Commercial Manager for Life Therapeutics and involved in a broad range of activities surrounding the commercialisation of cutting-edge biotechnology developments.



professor fabienne mackay

Professor Fabienne Mackay is the Head of the School of Biomedical Sciences at the University of Melbourne. She obtained her PhD in 1994 at the Louis Pasteur University in Strasbourg, before joining Biogen Idec Inc. in Boston, where she dissected the role of a TNF-like ligand lymphotoxin-alpha/beta in autoimmunity and cancer – work that resulted in many patents and the development of two new treatments. Following a successful stint at the Garvan Institute in Sydney, where Prof Mackay's lab discovered the role of a new molecule named BAFF, she was appointed Director of the Autoimmunity Research Unit and adjunct full Professor at the Faculty of Medicine, University of New South Wales and University of Sydney in 2006 and, in 2009, Chair of the Department of Immunology at Monash University. Prof Mackay consults for several biotech and pharmaceutical groups, has held several leadership positions with professional research associations and is an associate editor and guest editor for a number of scientific journals.