News / 23 March 2016

The Committee is composed of distinguished scientists appointed in their own right, not as representatives of member states. Membership of the Committee is drawn from scientists in a wide range of relevant fields of science in order to cover as far as possible both the field of molecular biology and other appropriate scientific disciplines.

The procedure for selecting candidates is that nominations are solicited from EMBL Council delegations, European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO) Council members, EMBO Membership Committee members, current members of SAC, and from the heads of major European scientific institutions. These nominations are then examined by the SAC and five candidates per required position are provided to the EMBO Council. EMBO Council then recommends three times as many candidates as there are positions to be filled, plus a reserve. From this list, the EMBL Council chooses the new members and alternates (should the selected candidates decline) at its summer meeting.

Proposals are requested to be provided to the EMBL Council Secretariat (attn: Michael Thompson by 2 May 2016, so that nominations can be prepared and distributed for consideration at the annual SAC meeting on 21 May 2016. The resulting nominations will then be forwarded to EMBO Council for its decision by written procedure.

Please refer to the attached notice (above right) for further details.

Back to News